Boxer Terence Crawford Beats out GSP and Namajunas for Best Fighter Award at 2018 ESPY’s

Welp, it was a good run guys. MMA fighters won the ESPY’s best fighter award for 3 years straight with Ronda Rousey starting the streak in 2015 followed by Conor McGregor in 2016 and Demetrious Johnson winning last year albeit off camera in a confusing segment. Nevertheless, Terence Crawford took home the award this year after going 2-0 in 2017 and picking up a win this year over Jeff Horn to win the WBO Welterweight Title.

In the process, “Bud” Crawford beat out fellow boxing star Vasyl Lomachenko as well as MMA fighters George St. Pierre, and Rose Namajunas.

A good case could be made for Lomachenko to win it over his counterpart as he went 3-0 in 2017 against arguably tougher opposition and finished Jorge Linares at MSG back in May to become the undisputed Lightweight Champ.

Breakout MMA star “Thug” Rose Namajunas also looked to be in good position having beaten Michelle Waterson to earn a title shot against then unbeatable looking Joanna Jędrzejczyk in 2017. She proved that was no fluke back in April when she again defeated Joanna at UFC 223 in a 5 round war.

Some thought GSP might get a look just on name value alone as he came out of retirement to upset Middleweight belt holder Michael Bisping in a weight class up from where he fought his entire career to date at that point. But St Pierre has again backed away into semi-retirement since.

Congratulations to Terence Crawford and there’s always next year to reclaim the award for MMA we’re excited to see who can make their name standout in 2019!

Facebook Comments