Photo Credit: Felipe Fiorito

Former RFA Champion Raoni Barcelos Steps In Against Boston Salmon at UFC São Paulo

Currently slated to be the first contract winner of the Dana White’s Tuesday Night Contender Series to compete inside the UFC octagon, Boston Salmon will now have to plan for a new opponent. Originally set to tangle with Augusto Mendes, Salmon (6-1 MMA, 0-0 UFC) will now face promotional newcomer and former RFA Featherweight Champion Raoni Barcelos at UFC Fight Night: São Paulo first reported by Combate.  The matchup is set to air on the Fox Sports 2 television preliminary portion of the evening’s fight card.  UFC São Paulo is set for October 28, 2017 at the Ginásio do Ibirapuera in São Paul, Brazil.

A Hawaiian import training at Xtreme Couture, Salmon impressed the UFC brass with his fight performance on the premiere episode of the Dana White Tuesday Night Contender Series program.  “Boom Boom” Salmon showcased high-level footwork, precision and power with his striking en route to a clear unanimous decision victory over Team Alpha Male’s Ricky Turcios.  With the performance, Salmon (along with Kurt Holobaugh) was awarded a UFC contract that night.  MMA Today’s Shawn Bitter broke the news that the 26-year-old was scheduled to battle Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu world champion Augusto Mendes but a leg injury has since forced Mendes off the card and in steps fellow Brazilian, Barcelos.

Making his UFC debut opposite Salmon will be the former RFA Featherweight Champion, Raoni Barcelos (11-1 MMA, 0-0 UFC).  Barcelos captured the RFA title in August of 2015 with a unanimous decision victory over Ricky Musgrave.  Successful title defenses against Bobby Moffett and Dan Moret followed.  With the RFA and LFC organizations merged, Barcelos was set to battle LFC Featherweight Champion, Kevin Aguilar this past February to unify the titles. An injury knocked Barcelos from the fight and now the 32-year-old will be competing in his first fight in just over a year.

With this addition, UFC São Paulo now includes:

Lyoto Machida vs. #7 Derek Brunson

#3 Damian Maia vs. #8 Colby Covington

#12 Pedro Munhoz vs. #13 Rob Font

Francisco Trinaldo vs. Jim Miller

#15 Thiago Santos vs. Jack Hermansson

#5 John Lineker vs. Marlon Vera

Vicente Luque vs. Niko Price

Boston Salmon vs. Raoni Barcelos

Antonio Carlos Junior vs. Jack Marshman

Elizeu Zaleski Dos Santos vs. Max Griffin

Hacran Dias vs. Jared Gordon

Deiveson Figueiredo vs. Jarred Brooks

Christian Colombo vs. Marcelo Golm


Follow @MMATodayNews on Twitter and Check out MMA Today’s Website for the latest in the world of mixed martial arts.

Facebook Comments
Breaking NewsMMANewsUFC